LGA Cherin Award

LGA's A. Robert Cherin Award for an Outstanding Deputy or Assistant Local Government Attorney honors a deputy or assistant local government attorney who has demonstrated distinguished public service that has enhanced the image of local government attorneys in the Commonwealth and reflects a personal commitment to the highest ethical and professional principles. This award was established in 1994 and renamed in the fall of 2000 to honor Bob Cherin, a long-time LGA member after his untimely death in August 2000. Bob had served for 25 years in the Fairfax County Attorney's Office when he retired as Deputy County Attorney in September 1998.


The nominee shall have served as a deputy or assistant city, town, or county attorney for at least 10 years. Service need not be with the same local government, and consecutive service is not required. Sitting members of the board of directors are not eligible to be nominated for or receive the Cherin Award. A retiree is eligible to receive the Cherin Award within 12 months of retirement.


The nominee shall have demonstrated distinguished service as a deputy or assistant city, county or town attorney; the nominee's public service shall have enhanced the image of local government attorneys in the Commonwealth; and the nominee shall have demonstrated personal commitment to the highest ethical and professional principles.


Possible recipients for the award will be considered every year, but the LGA reserves the right not to give the award during any year when it believes there is no qualified recipient. The award, when given, is presented at the LGA spring conference.


To be considered for the Cherin Award, an individual must be nominated by an active member of LGA in the office of the nominee and, if the nominator is anyone other than the chief counsel, the nomination must be endorsed by the chief counsel currently employing the nominee. If less than three nominations are received by awards committee, members of the board of directors may submit additional names for the committee's consideration. The board of directors will select the recipient from the nominee(s) recommended by the awards and recognitions committee.


If you would like to make a nomination for this award, please e-mail the LGA Awards & Recognitions Committee Chair. Please state the reason(s) you believe the nominee(s) should receive the award along with any other pertinent information. Nominations may include up to three letters of recommendation. Specific deadlines for submission of nominations will be published at appropriate times throughout the year in issues of the Bill of Particulars and on the LGA website.

Past Recipients

Cynthia A. Bailey 2024
Curt G. Spear 2023
Roderick R. Ingram 2022
Erin C. Ward 2021
Robert B. Dickerson 2020
Michael S.J. Chernau 2019
George A. McAndrews 2018
Ara L. Tramblian 2017
Bernadette S. Peele 2016
G. Gregory Kamptner 2015
J.T. Tokarz 2014
Stylian P. Parthemos 2013
Ellen F.M. Posner 2012
Eleanor A. Putnam Dunn 2011
Karen M. Adams 2010
Cynthia B. Hall 2009
William M. Macali 2008
Beverly A. Burton 2007
Jan L. Proctor 2006
Rhysa G. South 2005
Leo P. Rogers 2004
Joyce M. Coleman 2003
Barbara M. Rose 2002
[No award given] 2001
Michael H. Long 2000
William X. Parsons 1999
John E. Oliver 1998
Jeffrey L. Mincks 1997
[No award given] 1996
Harold P. Juren 1995
John L. Knight 1994