THE LGA NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR 2023 has been appointed to nominate candidates for the LGA Board of Directors.

 Cheran C. Ivery, Chair, City of Hampton
            ([email protected]; (757) 727-6127)

Alyssa D. Brown, County of Henrico
            ([email protected]; (804) 501-5091)

Jim H. Guynn, Jr., County of Alleghany
            ([email protected]; (540) 387-2320)

Rysheda M. McClendon, County of Stafford
            ([email protected]; (540) 658-8639)

Lawrence S. Spencer, Jr., Town of Blacksburg
            ([email protected]; (540) 443-1016)

Mark C. Popovich, City of Covington (ex officio)
            ([email protected]; (540) 444-0493)

Only LGA active members are eligible to serve on the board of directors. Active members include VML and VACo representatives. In addition, LGA policy guidelines specify that in reviewing candidates, the nominating committee will consider (a) candidates’ experience, commitment, and diversity of race and gender; (b) the type, size, geographic region, and history of board service for the member localities represented; and (c) representation by deputies and assistants, as well as private practitioners who are active members. Section 5-3.02(c) details these guidelines.

 The slate of officers and directors recommended by the Nominating Committee will be presented to the active LGA membership for election at LGA's annual business meeting at on April 20, 2023 at its spring conference at the Hotel Roanoke. The newly elected board members and officers will begin their duties as of September 1, 2023. 

If you would like to recommend a representative of an active LGA member for a position of officer or director, please contact any member of the Nominating Committee. Please note that all recommendations must be received by Monday, February 20, 2023. A notice of the committee's recommended slate of officers and directors will be provided to the LGA membership prior to the annual meeting.


FOUR OFFICERS, each to be elected to a one-year term (9.1.23—8.31.24), as follows.

  1. President (to replace Mark Popovich, City of Covington)
  2. Vice-President (to replace Lesa Yeatts, Town of Herndon)
  3. Treasurer (to replace Andy Herrick, County of Albemarle)
  4. Secretary (to replace Kelly Lackey, County of King George)

While an officer may not succeed him/herself, each officer is eligible to “move up the officer ladder” and be elected to a new officer position.

TWO NEW DIRECTORS, to be elected to a two-year term (9.1.23—8.31.25), to replace the following who will complete their second two-year term on 8.31.23.

  1. Director to replace Courtney Sydnor, County of Loudoun
  2. Director to replace George Lyle, County of Henry

While ineligible to be elected to another term, these directors are eligible to be elected as an officer.

TWO DIRECTORS to be elected to a two-year term (9.1.23—8.31.25) for a position currently held by

  1. Alan Spencer, City of Danville
  2. Tyler Southall, County of Dinwiddie

These two directors have completed their first terms and are eligible for election to a second term.


New officers and board members elected in April 2023 will join the following members with unexpired terms.

FOUR DIRECTORS with terms that do not end until August 31, 2024:

  1. Ryan Samuel, County of Arlington (completing his second term)
  2. Michael Abbott, County of Wise (completing his second term)
  3. John Blair, City of Staunton (completing his first term)
  4. Brandi Law, City of Hampton (completing her first term) 

ONE DIRECTOR, a one-year term, designated for the immediate past president

  1. Mark Popovich, City of Covington